Skip Navigation Links  

[Geographical and Political Situation]


Turkey was divided into seven geographical regions regarding natural, anthropo-geographical and economical factors in “Turkey’s 1st Geography Congress” held in 1941.

According to their sizes the regions were parted as follows: Eastern Anatolia Region(% 21), Central Anatolia Region (% 20), Black Sea Region (% 18), Mediterranean Region (% 15), Aegean Region (% 10), Marmara Region (% 8,5) and Southeastern Anatolia (% 7,5). Turkey was also divided into 81 provinces concerning its administrative structure.

Turkey is not only one of the most strategic countries of the world with its geopolitical situation, but also it is the intersection point of “Old World Lands” consisting of Asia, Europe and Africa continents. In addition to possessing entire natural beauties of the world, Turkey serves as the only bridge between the East and the West in terms of physical factors, religion, civilization and culture.

Turkey is connected to world oceans via Black sea, Mediterranean and Aegean Sea enclosing its three sides. Turkey is neighbor to the whole world in a sense and it has been the center of great migrations and trade routes throughout the history. The Black sea links to the world thru the Straits and Marmara which is an inland sea conveys crucial water ways. Turkey neighbors to Georgia, Armenia, Naxcivan and Iran on the East side; to Bulgaria, Greece on the West and to the Syria and Iraq on the South.

The modern Turkish Republic founded in 29 October 1923 is a democratic, secular and social state of law.

Besides being charter member of the United Nations Organization and Black sea Economical Cooperation, Turkey is also a member of NATO and it is on the way to European Union membership.